Montreal and Sherbrooke). Each offers an eight-year course, entered after completion of the seven years of elementary schooling and leading in two four-year stages—secondary and college—to the baccalaureate degree.

The French public school curriculum has been revised recently. A seven-year elementary and four- or five-year secondary school has been substituted for a three-stage primary school (elementary, 1 to 7; complementary, 8 and 9; superior, 10 to 12). Also a classical course has been introduced into the public secondary school, equivalent to the first four years of the classical college curriculum. The junior matriculation level in both Catholic and Protestant schools is at the end of the eleventh year.

Public vocational education is highly developed in Quebec, chiefly under the Department of Social Welfare and Youth which operates a network of arts and trades schools, technical schools, and institutes. Teacher training, too, has undergone radical revision within the past few years. The normal schools raised the entrance requirement to completion of the eleventh year, instituted one-, two- and four-year courses, and related their programs to university requirements so that a degree in pedagogy may be earned in the four-year course.

At the university level the province has the three French language universities mentioned above and the French language Canadian Services College—Collège Militaire Royal de Saint-Jean. The three English language institutions of higher education are McGill University (including Macdonald College), Sir George Williams College, and Bishop's University.

Adult education forms part of the program of many governmental and voluntary bodies, certain of the latter receiving support from the provincial government.

Ontario.—Ontario has developed a complex pattern of local units of school administration. One county, for example, might conceivably have a wide variety of school units, such as school sections, consolidated sections, continuation districts, township school areas and town and village districts, which makes summarization difficult.

The province has a 13-grade public school program, the junior matriculation level being reached at the end of grade 12, and senior matriculation at the end of grade 13.

Elementary schools (grades 1 to 8) under control of the Department of Education may be public or separate, all but three of the latter being Roman Catholic. A considerable number of the Roman Catholic separate schools in French language communities are bilingual and are staffed by teachers trained in both English and French. Secondary schools (grades 9 to 13) under Departmental control are all public and are of five main types: collegiate institutes, high schools, continuation schools, vocational schools, and composite schools. A relatively small number of pupils attend private schools; most of these schools are inspected by the Department of Education and their students are prepared for Departmental certificates.

Most vocational education at the secondary level is provided in the public secondary schools, although there is a Provincial Institute of Trades (in Toronto), two agricultural schools under the Department of Agriculture, many private business colleges and a number of private trade schools. The Department of Education also operates five technical institutes in which most courses are at the post-secondary level.

Teachers for the elementary schools are trained at teachers' colleges operated by the Department of Education, in a one-year course following completion of grade 13 or a two-year course following grade 12. Secondary school teachers receive a one-year period of training at the Ontario College of Education, University of Toronto, after university graduation. Vocational school teachers are also trained at the Ontario College of Education.

In addition to a number of independent junior colleges and professional training schools, the province has nine institutions of higher learning: University of Ottawa, Queen's University, Royal Military College, University of Toronto, McMaster University, University of Western Ontario, Assumption University of Windsor, Carleton University, and Collège du Sacré-Coeur. All but the last two have federated or affiliated colleges.